Find the Setting That Best Meets the Needs of the Patient

There are four levels of hospice care that are paid by Medicare, Medicaid, and most insurance plans. They allow the hospice program to serve in the setting that best meets the needs of the patient. Brookdale Hospice or the attending physician determines the level of care based on patient needs. Some or all of these care options may be used during a patient’s hospice care. All types of care must be approved by the hospice before the patient may use them. Although not all patients use or need all levels of care all are available to them.

  • Routine Home Care
    The patient continues to live at home and receive hospice services there. The family and patient are able to handle the needs and care of the patient with assistance from the hospice team. Members of the interdisciplinary team will visit to ensure that the patient’s symptoms are properly managed, as well as to educate and communicate with the family with regard to the patient’s needs.
  • Continuous Care
    Care to be provided only during periods of crisis to maintain the patient at home. The criteria for continuous home care are the same as those for general inpatient care. This care is provided for a limited time by the hospice interdisciplinary staff.
  • General Inpatient Care
    Some patients may have symptoms that cannot be managed at home to maintain pain and/or symptom control. Inpatient care is provided in a designated center where the interdisciplinary staff can take an aggressive and individualized approach.
  • Respite Care
    This service is provided in a facility and is designed to give caregivers a rest from handling the care of the patient. Respite care is limited to five days and nights at a time. This service is often used to provide a break so that caregivers can participate in other family activities.

It is important to note that there is no list of services that a hospice patient may not receive. Services must be reasonable and necessary for palliation of the terminal illness. Provision of services or medications unrelated to a terminal illness is not allowable.